Do you have just a few hours to spend in our beautiful city? The three-hour Express Route gives you a unique cultural insight into Jyväskylä. Within this time, you will see the most recognisable landmarks in Jyväskylä, enjoy its university town atmosphere, visit museums and Toivola Old Courtyard, and experience the lively city centre and the relaxed feel of the harbour. At the museum shops and Toivola Old Courtyard, you can also find souvenirs to take home.
Harju and Vesilinna
Ihantolantie 5, 40100 Jyväskylä
tel. +358 (0)10 439 3000 (Vesilinna Restaurant)
Surrounded by Yliopistonkatu, Harjukatu and Pitkäkatu, Harju has been a popular area for sport and leisure among local residents since the late nineteenth century, with its sports fields, jogging tracks, summer theatre and May Day traditions. Running from the end of Gummeruksenkatu to the tower of Vesilinna tower, the Nero steps are among the most photographed sites in Jyväskylä. Located at the top of Harju, the tower of Vesilinna was designed by architect Olavi Kivimaa and was completed in 1953. Its observation deck offers magnificent views in all directions.
Admission to the observation deck is free during restaurant opening hours.
Craft Museum of Finland
Kauppakatu 25, 40100 Jyväskylä
tel. +358 (0)14 26 64370
The Craft Museum of Finland is a national specialist museum that promotes handicrafts as a profession, an art form and a hobby. The museum is also home to the National Costume Centre of Finland and the Conservation Centre. The museum shop offers a wide selection of unique products. The shop is open during museum opening hours, even on Sundays.
Click here for opening hours and admission fees.
Jyväskylä Art Museum
Kauppakatu 23, 40100 Jyväskylä
tel. +358 (0)14 266 4391
The Jyväskylä Art Museum serves as the regional art museum of Central Finland. It focuses on visual art from Central Finland, Finnish and international printmaking, photography and Finnish and international art related to its collections.
Click here for opening hours and admission fees.
Sexton, tel. +358 (0)50 549 7043
Church Park is one of the oldest parks in Jyväskylä. Jyväskylä City Church, the first stone church in Central Finland, was built in the middle of the market square in 1880. This culturally and historically valuable park was extensively renovated in the early 2000s. Today, Church Park is a green oasis – a beautiful and popular meeting place in the middle of the city.
Jyväskylä City Church is open Wed–Fri from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Toivola Old Courtyard
Cygnaeuksenkatu 2, 40100 Jyväskylä
tel. 0600 98679 (EUR 2.99 per minute + local network charge)
Toivola Old Courtyard, an artisans’ courtyard dating from the late nineteenth century, is thriving anew today. It has an atmospheric café, craft shops, museums and small businesses. The craftsmen’s houses were transferred to the plot from the Museum of Central Finland in 2010. They are the oldest houses still in existence in Jyväskylä. The Coppersmith’s House and the Cabinetmaker’s House have served as museums since the mid-1950s. They are rare examples of the oldest style of construction, dating from the time when Jyväskylä was a small wooden town, while also serving as examples of nineteenth-century living. The Muisto Café is also located in Toivola Old Courtyard. Admission is free.
Houses designed by Wivi Lönn
Seminaarinkatu 32, 40100 Jyväskylä (Rector’s House and Librarian’s House)
Wivi Lönn was the first female architect in Finland. She was born in Tampere, but her brother encouraged her to move to Jyväskylä in 1911. She lived in Älylä, now known as the Mattila district, in a house she had designed. As well as her own home, she designed more than ten buildings in the area, including Puistokoulu, Park School, which still serves as a primary school. You can find sites designed by Wivi Lönn at the following addresses: Seminaarinkatu 32, Seminaarinkatu 30, Seminaarinkatu 26, Vapaudenkatu 25, Hämeenkatu 3, Hämeenkatu 4 and Seminaarinkatu 18.
The Seminaarinmäki campus area
Seminaarinkatu 15, 40100 Jyväskylä
tel. +358 (0)14 260 1211 (switchboard)
The Seminaarinmäki campus is one of the most beautiful and architectonically interesting university areas in Finland. The area has buildings constructed for the University of Jyväskylä as well as its predecessors: the Teacher Training College and the College of Education. Seminaarinpuisto, Seminar Park, designed by gardener Jernström, was completed in 1883. The area also contains the botanical garden of the University of Jyväskylä. University Gate, a sculpture by the university library (opposite the Rector’s House, Seminaarinkatu 15), is a good starting point for a short walk on Seminaarinmäki, Seminar Hill.
The Alvar Aalto Museum
Alvar Aallon Katu 7, 40100 Jyväskylä
tel. +358 40 135 6210
The Alvar Aalto Museum operates in two cities: Jyväskylä and Helsinki. It is made up of four sites open to the public. The Alvar Aalto Museum building in Jyväskylä houses a specialist museum of architecture and design that serves as a national and international centre for information about Aalto. It is located on a slope by Jyväsjärvi lake. Alvar Aalto finalised his designs for the museum building in 1973. The Alvar Aalto Museum and the Museum of Central Finland (Aalto 1961) form a cultural centre next to the University of Jyväskylä (Aalto 1951–1971).
Lutakko Marina, 40100 Jyväskylä
The Lutakko Harbour is located next to Jyväsjärvi lake in the city centre. It is the northernmost passenger harbour of Lake Päijänne. Several ferries operate between Lutakko and Lahti, Jämsä, Suolahti and Viitasaari. The harbour is located along Rantaraitti, a 13-kilometre pedestrian and cycle route circling Jyväsjärvi lake, which makes it popular a recreational area for local residents, particularly in the summer.
Find services and nearest points of interest on a map